🎉 PRAN Foundation is now 12A & 80G Approved — Donations are Tax Deductible  |  Section 8 Non-Profit · NGO Darpan Registered  |  Donate Now  |  View Governance
PRAN (Policy Research Action Network) Foundation Empowering People · Advancing Justice · Protecting Rights
Join PRAN Network

Alcohol History Is Not Proof of Intoxication: Consumer Commission Orders ₹60 Lakh Insurance Payout to Widow

 

Alcohol History Is Not Proof of Intoxication: Consumer Commission Orders ₹60 Lakh Insurance Payout to Widow

A recent Chandigarh consumer commission ruling highlights an important principle in insurance disputes: merely recording a history of alcohol consumption does not, by itself, establish that an insured person was intoxicated at the time of an accident.

Insurance claims following accidental death are often contested on the basis of policy exclusions. One such dispute recently came before the Chandigarh District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, where an insurer rejected an accidental death claim by relying on a hospital record that mentioned a “history of alcohol consumption.”

The Commission found that this was not sufficient to establish that the deceased was under the influence of alcohol when the accident occurred and directed the insurer and bank to pay ₹60 lakh to the deceased's widow, along with ₹20,000 towards mental agony, harassment and litigation costs.

What happened in the case?

The deceased was a Head Constable with the Chandigarh Police and maintained his salary account with a private bank.

Under a Memorandum of Understanding dated 30 October 2021, Chandigarh Police personnel maintaining salary accounts with the bank were covered under a personal accidental death insurance policy.

On 2 July 2022, the Head Constable met with a road accident while travelling on his scooter. He suffered serious injuries and was initially admitted to SPS Hospital, Ludhiana. He was subsequently referred to Government Medical College and Hospital (GMCH-32), Chandigarh, where he died from his injuries on 18 July 2022.

His widow subsequently sought the accidental death benefit under the insurance cover.

The insurance company, however, rejected the claim in October 2022. Its case was that the hospital records indicated that the deceased was under the influence of alcohol at the time of the accident and that the circumstances therefore fell within an exclusion under the insurance policy.

The widow challenged the repudiation before the District Consumer Commission, alleging deficiency in service and unfair trade practice.

The crucial distinction: alcohol history is not intoxication

The Commission focused on what the medical records actually established.

The hospital summary referred to a “history of alcohol consumption.” However, it did not state that the deceased was intoxicated or under the influence of liquor at the time of the accident.

The Commission observed that:

“history of alcohol consumption” and being “under the influence of liquor” are not akin to each other.

In other words, a person's past or general consumption of alcohol is not automatically proof that the person was intoxicated at a particular point in time.

This distinction was central to the decision.

Insurer could not establish intoxication with evidence

The Commission noted that the insurer had not produced scientific or medical evidence establishing intoxication at the relevant time.

In particular, there was no blood-alcohol test, breathalyser report or comparable evidence demonstrating that the deceased was under the influence of alcohol when the accident occurred.

The Commission relied upon precedents of the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission while examining this issue.

The important point is not that an insurer can never rely upon an intoxication exclusion. Rather, when an insurer seeks to invoke such an exclusion, the facts and evidence must establish that the exclusion actually applies to the circumstances of the accident.

What did the Consumer Commission decide?

The Commission found that the deceased was covered under the personal accidental death insurance policy and that his death following the accident was undisputed.

It concluded that the insurer was unjustified in repudiating the claim merely on the basis of the material relied upon to establish intoxication.

The Commission held that the repudiation amounted to deficiency in service and unfair trade practice.

The insurer and bank were directed to pay ₹60 lakh to the widow under the accidental death insurance cover.

The Commission also awarded ₹20,000 towards mental agony, harassment and litigation costs.

What does this mean for insurance policyholders?

The case carries an important lesson for consumers and nominees dealing with accidental death claims.

1. Read the exclusion clause carefully

Insurance policies may contain exclusions relating to intoxication, alcohol or other circumstances. The exact wording of the policy is therefore important.

A claim should not be assessed merely on the insurer's description of an exclusion; the actual policy terms must be examined.

2. Ask what evidence establishes the exclusion

If an insurer says that a claim is excluded because the deceased was intoxicated, the evidence supporting that conclusion becomes important.

A reference in a medical record to a history of alcohol consumption is not necessarily the same as evidence of intoxication at the time of the accident.

3. Obtain the complete medical records

In disputed accident claims, family members should preserve the hospital records, discharge summary, medico-legal documents, post-mortem report, police records and other documents relating to the accident.

The exact wording of the medical records can become significant when an insurer relies on an exclusion.

4. Do not assume that repudiation is the end of the matter

An insurance company’s repudiation of a claim can be challenged where the consumer believes that the rejection is contrary to the policy terms or unsupported by adequate evidence.

Depending on the circumstances, a consumer may seek appropriate redressal through the available consumer dispute-resolution mechanisms and other remedies under law.

A broader consumer-rights principle

Insurance contracts necessarily contain exclusions and conditions. At the same time, an exclusion cannot simply be presumed to apply without examining the facts of the particular claim.

This Chandigarh decision demonstrates the importance of the distinction between a fact that may appear in a medical history and a fact that legally establishes the applicability of a policy exclusion.

For families already dealing with the loss of a breadwinner, an unjustified repudiation of an insurance claim can add a significant financial and emotional burden. Consumer law provides a mechanism through which such disputes can be examined.

The decision therefore serves as a useful reminder:

An insurer must examine and establish the facts supporting repudiation; a mere reference to alcohol consumption is not, by itself, proof of intoxication at the time of an accident.

Important Note

This article is intended for general legal and consumer awareness and is based on publicly reported facts concerning the Chandigarh District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission's order dated 22 September 2026.

The outcome of an individual insurance dispute will depend on the specific policy terms, medical and accident records, evidence available and facts of the case. This article should not be treated as legal advice or as a substitute for examination of the relevant documents.

Source: The Indian Express, “Insurer rejects accident claim over ‘alcohol intake history’, widow secures Rs 60 lakh,” updated October 6, 2026.

PRAN Foundation – Policy Research Action Network Foundation
Consumer Justice | Legal Awareness | Public Interest Research

💬 ⚖ Be a Legal Aid Volunteer 🤝
⚖ Request Legal Aid
Free · Volunteer Guided